40 for 40 {Experience 4} : Write a Friend

I wrote my friend today.  She and I have a history together, a wonderful history of sacred shared times, times of raucous laughter, performing together, investing together.  We walked through engagements together, and broken engagements.  We were there for one another’s weddings.  It is one of my most cherished friendships.

And it ended over five years ago.

Letting go of people has been a great sadness to me for as far back as I can remember.  I tried to write about it and explain it a little here.  I love living life with others and am so grateful for the community of people who have walked beside me in these forty years.

Because this was such a cherished friendship, it was really difficult for me to let it go.  This breaking up of friendships is not talked about all that often, but it happens.  It happened to me.

And I walked through the loss, and I really do appreciate the lessons in the friendship and in the years since.  As I sat to write my friend today, I compared our friendship to a road, and for a long time that friendship was one of the main roads of my life . . . but then there were the corners and turns, and the road began to narrow.

I never thought it would become a little path, but it did, and I can appreciate that journey from highway to pathway.  I am grateful for all of it. I thanked her for that today.

When you part from your friend, you grieve not; for that which you love most in her may be clearer in her absence, as the mountain to the climber is clearer from the plain.  ~Kahlil Gibran


One thought on “40 for 40 {Experience 4} : Write a Friend

  1. “Letting go of people has been a great sadness to me for as far back as I can remember. ” — thanks for sharing this; I’m the same way! I love people so deeply, and can still cry sometimes over those sweet, sweet friendships lost…there’s an ache from missing someone that’s never quite filled when a friendship ends. Thanks for the perspective and vulnerability! It’s always nice to know you’re not alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

