Summertime Blogging Begins

The decision has been made . . . blogging is about to commence again for the Sharpteam.

Blogging has proved to be two things for me (Liza):  accountability and community.

When I make blogging goals I feel accountable about following up on things in my day to day life.  The is was true when I started the blog just writing about Foster Care.  It continued to be true for me as we chose to focus in and get organized and get green.  It was especially  true throughout my 40 for 40.  So it begins again this summer.

I am spending many of my summer days with Cole. There is lots that is wonderful about this . . . and there is a good deal that makes me concerned . . . so I have decided to adventure into it with intention.

After much thought, prayer, and inspiration (seeing what some blogger moms are doing here and here), we have come to our own way of having an intentionally adventurous summer . . . me and a toddler, Liza-style.

We will be having a theme each week for the next 10 weeks of summer.  The themes will be pretty elementary (Colors Week, Numbers Week, Transportation Week).  But it will give me some broad structure, it will focus us to be intentional with Cole in his learning and provide ideas and inspiration for little activities and adventures.

There are other things I plan to blog about as well.  And there are things I wanted to blog about and will catch up on.  So I am in.  I will be writing and reaching out.  I am open to any and all ideas and suggestions for how to have a wonderful, intentional, adventurous summer with a little boy.

Happy Summer!

2 thoughts on “Summertime Blogging Begins

  1. 1. Drawing shapes, numbers, etc in shaving cream…preferably outside on a tray.
    2. Chalk drawings…again, outside…unless your definition of adventurous is colored walls in the house!
    3. Baking/Cooking. It might sound scary and messy but it is beyond wonderful to watch a toddler crack an egg, mix the liquids and the solids, add chocolate chips, etc. and get to be an independent helper. This is such an empowering activity. Pasta salad is an easy thing to make. When they add their favorite veggies/meats/cheeses, the end result becomes extra special to them. I used to mop the floor and lay everything we’d need out on a tablecloth. Everything is within their reach when it’s on the floor. This activity is great for multiple children so they can learn patience by taking turns and older children can assist with measuring, reading recipes,etc.
    Oh, I could go on and on. Colton is at such a precious age. Every single thing is an adventure. Everything is bright and wonderful. He will love every minute with you and won’t care a bit what activity it is, as long as he gets to be with you.
    xoxoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

