There Will Be a Child

Adopting Intentionally – Day 9

For 31 Days I will blog about Adopting Intentionally, you can find an overview and links to daily posts here.

A Child

I have always liked to set expectations high for myself . . .

. . .  while simultaneously setting my expectations low for my circumstances.

I have learned by doing this I am less disappointed and more capable of seeing the best in my circumstance.

So when it came to adoption I was ready to do the work it would take . . . but I found myself guarding my heart from disappointment.

I had heard stories of disrupted adoptions and heartbroken parents. 

I internally decided I would walk through the process but not expect anything from it.

This was relatively effective.  Andrew and I were able to check the steps of the process off relatively quickly.  And then I could just live life fully without thinking about adoption.

Until I had a revelation from a dear friend who had worked as an adoption social worker.  “There will be a child,” Gwyn reminded me, as if she could see my protected heart.

There will? I thought. 

And then I realized the importance of preparing my heart.

When you step into adoption you do not know what you are getting into, and there can be heartache (there was for us).

But if you walk through the process, there will be a child.

In all things may we balance our expectations, while opening our heart to possibilities.  Intentionally prepare for adoption, there will be a child.

One thought on “There Will Be a Child

Leave a Reply

